Limited Enrollment Programs

Limited Enrollment Programs (LEP) have specific gateway requirements for admission and determine their enrollments on a space-available basis.

Several majors at Maryland, known as Limited Enrollment Programs, have limited space and, therefore, have more competitive admission criteria beyond the university’s general requirements. These majors include Business, Biological Sciences, Biochemistry, Chemistry, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Engineering, Environmental Sciences and Policy: Biodiversity and Conversation Biology, Government and Politics, Journalism, and Psychology.


Prospective Maryland Students

Prospective Maryland students should indicate their preferred major when completing their online application for admission. However, your preferred major is not considered in whether or not you are admissible to Maryland.

Admitted students who selected a Limited Enrollment Program as their major are then reviewed by the specific program to determine admission to that major. While the majority of students are admitted to their preferred major, some LEP applicants may not be. Students who are admitted to Maryland but not their preferred LEP major are placed in Letters & Sciences, where they will work with an advisor to meet the gateway requirements to earn admission to that major. Admitted students who did not select an LEP major are admitted directly to the major indicated on their application. All major decisions are included in the applicant’s admission decision letter.

Current Maryland Students

During the semester in which you complete the required gateway courses for your preferred major, current Maryland students should complete the Application for a Limited Enrollment Program to be considered for admission to their desired LEP. Be sure to review your program’s gateway criteria before applying.

You may apply online at any time prior to your program’s deadline. Please refer to the chart below for specific information regarding Fall 2017 admission as application deadlines and decision notification timelines vary by program. Applications are made available after the add/drop deadline each semester.

Please note: Students are able to complete a gateway requirement course during the summer, at either University of Maryland or another institution. In order to be considered, courses must be taken during University of Maryland’s Summer 1 Session. If the course is taken at another insitutation, it must be completed by July 9, 2017. 

Limited Enrollment Program Application Deadline Decision Notification
Biological Sciences; Biochemistry;
Chemistry and ENSP; Biodiversity;
and Conservation
June 7, 2017 Mid-June 2017
Communication June 7, 2017 Mid-June 2017
Engineering June 7, 2017 Mid-June 2017
Journalism June 7, 2017 Mid-June 2017
Business March 15, 2017

Mid-to-late April 2017 and Mid-June 2017


For students interested in applying for Criminology and Criminal Justice, Government and Politics, or Psychology, find out more here.

When previewing the application prior to submission, you will see all portions of the online application form, including those not relevant to the program for which you are applying. This is to be expected and will not impact your application provided you completed the sections relevant to your desired LEP major.

Only business school applicants may submit letters of recommendation; no more than three letters will be accepted. Letters of recommendation may be sent to or brought to the Office of Undergraduate Admissions in the Mitchell Building.

If you have technical problems using the application system, please contact If you have questions about the application requirements or admission process, you may contact the Limited Enrollment Programs office at


Your Admission Representative Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Connecticut Delaware Delaware District of Columbia District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming Puerto Rico Virgin Islands International